Biz Briefs Presented by West End Bank Archives for 2018-03

IU East Recognized Faculty for Research Projects and Course Development.


IU East recognized five faculty members who are grant recipients for research projects and course development.

Amanda Kraha, assistant professor of psychology, received the Center for Teaching and Learning Fellow for 2018. Each year, the Center for Teaching and Learning offers one faculty fellowship in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL), providing faculty members with an opportunity to cultivate and share their knowledge, techniques, and information on a particular teaching topic.

Tanya Perkins, assistant professor of English, received the Erwin and Priscilla Boschmann Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Grant. The grant is made possible through the generous contribution of Erwin and Priscilla Boschmann. This award is offered annually to full?time faculty to support research in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) at IU East.

Three faculty members received the Chancellor’s Community Engagement Course Development Grant. Recipients are Robin Brunk, lecturer in nursing; LaDonna Dulemba, assistant professor of nursing; and Carrie Mier, assistant professor of criminology. The grant is designed to assist faculty as they develop new or modify preexisting courses based on the use of best practices in service-learning course design and assessment.

Awards were presented to an outstanding support staff member and professional staff member who have made significant contributions to IU East during the past year. Recipients of the Professional Council Service Award and the Staff Council Service Award are nominated by their peers.

Lori Johnson, degree audit specialist in the Office of the Registrar, received the Staff Council Service Award.The recipient of the IU East Staff Council Service Award is selected based on his/her attitude, commitment, teamwork, contribution, and inspiration to the mission, goals and strategic initiatives of IU East.

KT Lowe, coordinator of Library Instruction and Service Learning in the Campus Library, received the Professional Council Service Award. Professional Council Service Award recipients will have made a significant impact on IU East, as demonstrated through the areas of exemplary achievement and performance, excellence in customer service/personal interaction, outstanding education support/initiative and creativity.




IU East presents Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards

Indiana University East presented several faculty and staff with awards during the Faculty and Staff Recognition ceremony held March 29.

Alisa Clapp-Itnyre, professor of English, is the recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Service Award. This award recognizes distinguished service—campus, community or professional, either one-time or sustained, by a full-time faculty member above and beyond the standard expectations of any compensation or release time provided for the service.

Gregory Dam, assistant professor psychology, received the Teaching Award for New Faculty. This award recognizes excellence in teaching by an untenured faculty member throughout their first four years at IU East.

LaDonna Dulemba, assistant professor of nursing, received the Helen Lees Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award was established in 1991. Professor Emeritus Lees passed away in 1992, but her spirit continues in this annual award to honor a full-time faculty member who has taught at least 10 semesters at IU East.

Edwina Helton, professor of English, received the Faculty Special Achievement Award. Helton is also the director of Graduate Programs in English and co-director of Women's and Gender Studies. This award recognizes outstanding all-around achievement, either short-term or sustained, by an IU East faculty member, and can be awarded for any combination of teaching, research and service.

Dianne Moneypenny, assistant professor and program coordinator for World Languages and Cultures, received the Progress Award for New Faculty. This award is given to faculty to acknowledge their contributions to teaching, research and service.

Katherine Miller Wolf, assistant professor of Anthropology, received this year’s Award for Excellence in Research. This award recognizes excellence in research and/or creative work by a full-time faculty member over a sustained period of time.

Image result for Indiana university east


Boys and Girls Clubs of Wayne County names Charles Davis Volunteer of the Year

Davis volunteered at the Club for three academic years and worked as an intern at its summer camp for two summers. He volunteered as part of Earlham’s Bonner Scholars program, which is a leadership program that awards scholarships based on community service.

During the school year Davis helped in the gym and in the education room. He also organized and led a weekly poetry group for a year, and he often led the Club’s Passport to Manhood program for pre-teen boys.



March Reid Health Ambassador - David Blevins

David Blevins, who works as a locksmith in the Engineering Department, admits he’s a “people guy” who just tries to help whenever he can. Nominators said Blevins “will drop what he is doing to help someone in need,” including “going out of his way to get a wheelchair for a patient or visitors and take them where they need to go.”


Not only does he help patients with wheelchairs, his job also involves making sure the chairs are in good working order. He regularly checks and services locks and doors on Reid Health’s main campus and satellite locations, which is how he often crosses paths with patients and visitors and logs thousands of steps each week.

“I love my coworkers,” Blevins said. “Everybody has been great to me here at Reid.”


10 Outstanding Young Professionals in Wayne County to be Honored.

HYPE and the Wayne County Area Chamber of Commerce are proud to present the 2018 Wayne County’s Outstanding Young Professionals recognition luncheon. Congratulations to the top 10 Outstanding Young Professionals in Wayne County, who will be honored at the Young Professionals Luncheon on April 12th!

Top ten are Jason Blunk, Caitlin Fleenor, Andy Frame, Brittany Irvine, Brittaney Sawyer, Ashley Sieb, Caleb Smith, Matt Smith, Jeremy Thomas, and Heather Wierzbinski-Cross.

This luncheon will provide ample networking opportunities as we celebrate the contributions of the many talented young professionals to this community. HYPE and the Chamber also hope that this luncheon will inspire continued professional development, encourage community involvement, and connect professionals of all ages and experience levels.

No automatic alt text available.   Wayne County Chamber of Commerce Logo



Reid Health's "Richmond Family Care Center" Gets New Name

Reid Health’s “Richmond Family Care Center” is changing its name to the “Reid Health Residency Clinic.” The office’s last day of seeing patients at 1130 North J. street will be April 5.

The office will move back to its newly remodeled 795 Sim Hodgin Pkwy location on Monday April 9.



Richmond WEATHER

  View Radar