Biz Briefs Presented by West End Bank

Indiana University East presented several faculty and staff with awards during the Faculty and Staff Recognition ceremony held March 29.

Alisa Clapp-Itnyre, professor of English, is the recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Service Award. This award recognizes distinguished service—campus, community or professional, either one-time or sustained, by a full-time faculty member above and beyond the standard expectations of any compensation or release time provided for the service.

Gregory Dam, assistant professor psychology, received the Teaching Award for New Faculty. This award recognizes excellence in teaching by an untenured faculty member throughout their first four years at IU East.

LaDonna Dulemba, assistant professor of nursing, received the Helen Lees Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award was established in 1991. Professor Emeritus Lees passed away in 1992, but her spirit continues in this annual award to honor a full-time faculty member who has taught at least 10 semesters at IU East.

Edwina Helton, professor of English, received the Faculty Special Achievement Award. Helton is also the director of Graduate Programs in English and co-director of Women's and Gender Studies. This award recognizes outstanding all-around achievement, either short-term or sustained, by an IU East faculty member, and can be awarded for any combination of teaching, research and service.

Dianne Moneypenny, assistant professor and program coordinator for World Languages and Cultures, received the Progress Award for New Faculty. This award is given to faculty to acknowledge their contributions to teaching, research and service.

Katherine Miller Wolf, assistant professor of Anthropology, received this year’s Award for Excellence in Research. This award recognizes excellence in research and/or creative work by a full-time faculty member over a sustained period of time.

Image result for Indiana university east